top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim

Discussion Board

Updated: Feb 18

First, watch this awesome video and wait for the end! Its the best part!! Then, read the lyrics to Taylor Swift's song, The Great War.


******Click on this link: (1) Noah - YouTube


My book, Fallen from Grace, originally published in 2017


This is the cover of my book titled, Songs of the Unsung: How Your Stories & Poetry Become the Folklore of a Select Luminary published in 2019

(One of Taylor Swift's songs category - my quill pen was designed to represent her Folklore album which she used to categorize her songs on the, you guessed it, Folklore album)

Taylor Swift tried using my picture above, but I quickly stopped that so now she talks about it on her Eras Tour which you can view in the film, She discusses it as if it was her creative concept when thinking about the songs for her album. This is of course a lie as I created the picture immediately after she produced the album. Anyway, just thought id note that in here.


I guess Taylor liked the pic I took 8 months prior to the release of her album Midnights where she uses a 70's style phone in secrecy as I was in the pic above


I drew this to represent that dark cloak associated with the woke mob (Add woke to One Peoople, and you get Division. That is why it is being pushed today. It is mostly used by the Left for virtue signaling.)

**if you are looking for the dance video where I danced to Taylors song, The Man, and

Click on this link for more info: amzn.to/3JVgJR3 Poetry About the Woke Mob which includes the full poems written to compare to the songs that sound eerily similar!

Another idea for a music category...just kidding

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Read the story that inspired the poems: Fallen from Grace (retitled Songs of the Unsung) 2018

For more info on my separate poetry book: viewbook.at/Swift





To read the full length poems copy and paste this URL: https://www.Amazon.com/dp/B0BZN7HWV9

Note: I am not insinuating that Taylor Swift copied everything from other writers, including my own poems as this blog will show, but there are some influenced greatly by, without any kind of attribution or mention, other works including my own. Her previous work is more original and she certainly made it to stardom on her own and did not need to copy anyone to be successful (I believe she still would be huge today without the copying but not with the same lyrics or songs. By copying, it diminishes the creativity of the original work. She is not like someone who was just starting out, such as Lewis Capaldi, who clearly became famous from one song in which is very similar to poem I wrote titled Innocence Lost (More on that below).

Copyright Laws were initiated prior to the internet, though minor changes have been made, but they are still outdated as they fail to protect all writers/artists known or unknown.




Sometimes, you need to find humor in some things. People always talkin how Taylor is always droppin "Easter Eggs". Well, I happen to feel like Lucy in this story book! = )

TS = Taylor Swift

Example 1: TS's lyrics in Getaway Car: "Should've known I'd be the first to leave/...So I stole the keys/That was the last time you ever saw me." And in Cowboys Like Me, she wrote " Now you hang from my lips, like the Gardens of Babylon". My poem, Time, I wrote: "You thought I'd never leave, guess it took you by surprise when I got up and took the keys." Also I wrote, " I'd give you the Gardens of Babylon, just to be given a chance" ***If you read my poems in their entirety, you would see a close connection between the meanings of my poems and her songs***


Example 2: TS's lyrics in The Man: "Im running as fast as I can, wonder if I would get there faster if I was a man." My poem: Ordinary Citizen, I wrote: "I'm running behind, you say it's His word against mine"

I end this poem with the word Afterglow with a capital letter. Later, TS comes out with a song titled Afterglow.


Example 3:

TS's lyrics in Tear's Ricochet: "And I still talk to you (when I'm screaming at the sky)" My poem, Scorpion, I wrote "I can hear her laughter echoing to us from above, saying (this is nothing but a shit show)". TS later made a reference using a scorpion in one of her songs. Also, I wrote "I waited for you at the bar" and in a song TS wrote, "Coming home from the bar".

Taylor Swift's lyrics, "they're laughing at us from hell" and "screaming at the sky", are copied from my poem, Scorpion, where I wrote about the loss of someone who is now "laughing at us below, echoing, this is nothing but sh** show". In my other poem, I wrote "With the clouds I rain, the smog consumes me". Later, Taylor wrote "I was Midnight rain".

Also, my poem, Beams of Light, I wrote: Doves dancing and singing high in the sky, and I can hear the beautiful choir"

Example 4: My poem Invisible Power and TS's song Invisible String. Both discuss how an invisible power (which I refer to in my poem as the wind) is leading us to certain places and fulfilling purposes)


TS lyrics include, "Time, mystical time, cutting me open then healing me fine:. Which reminds me of my poem, Time, and my lines include "Time, what is time? All I know, it's never been very kind".

Also, I describe how the wind has power. In TS's song, Willow, she wrote "Life was a willow and it bent right to your wind"


Example 5: In my poem Delusional Reality, I discuss the feeling of derealization I had while suffering with a vestibular disorder. A line includes "Hold on to me, hold on to me. I wont let you down." In TS's prolog, she stated that her newest album "blurs the lines between fantasy and reality" Also, in the same poem I wrote, "with the clouds I rain, the smog consumes me" which is eerily similar to the smog and smoke in TS's Archer music video. And, her lyrics include "Help me hold on to you". (This just shows how she changes the meaning a little by adding or reversing lines).

Example 6: In my poem, Innocence Lost, I wrote, "I caught your tear in my hand, and I fear, you're drowning in your own reflection". TS's title of the song, Tear's Ricochet, which makes me think of this message. Furthermore, in my book, Fallen from Grace, I discuss how I lost jewelry when I left it at a hotel room. TS sings about the loss of jewelry with the passing of a loved one. So, this made me think of the book too. Of course, this also reminds me of a song written by Sia in Titanium where she sings, "I'm criticized, but all your bullets ricochet". In my poem, Fear, I wrote: Birds fly high targeting their victims with a keeneye" and later TS wrote, "Draw the cat eye strong enough to kill a man".

Example 7: My poem, Sky Tinted Water, I wrote about someone who was lost looking for love. I describe the water as reflecting the sky with implications that they reflect love. TS's song willow, she writes, "I'm like the water when your ship rolled in that night, rough on the surface but you cut through like a knife". The similarities in these two writings are in the usage of metaphors and placing human qualities and human emotions to elements of nature. - with reference to water.


Example 8: My poem, Sky Tinted Water, I wrote about love and how "I was falsely led astray"

TS's song, Hoax, describes believing in a false love Example 9: My poem, Sky Tinted Water, I wrote " Can you show me how to complement the sky?" TS's song, Illicit Affairs, she sings "You showed me colors you know I cant see with anyone else".

Furthermore, TS song, Illicit Affairs, she sings "I made you my temple, my mural, my sky". Which reminds me of my poem, Sky Tinted Water.


Example 10: My poem, Breaking Waves, I discuss once we swim past the waves, we will reach a calm and that calm is my saving grace TS's song, Cardigan, shows her swimming in a fierce ocean looking for something to calm her. Example 11: My poem, Stagnate, I describe feeling stuck and I wrote, "When will you let me go". Also, I describe how someone used to know me but that I have changed, their image of me has remained the same. I wrote how that was me then, and this is me now. In a few songs, TS wrote about how she was then and now, or how she knew someone back then.


TS's songs, Right Where you Left Me, and It's Time to Go both resemble my poem, Stagnate. Example 12: My poem, Clandestine Cat, describes a cat clawing at me but "can only leave tiny scratch marks on my back" TS's song, Death by a Thousand Cuts, describes being cut a lot and that it wasn't okay for someone to do that. Example 13: My poem, All I want for XMas, describes just wanting peace. TS's song, Peace, and Tis' the Damn Season, remind me of the poem above.

Example 14:

My poem, Innocence Lost, I wrote "Waiting for a break in the clouds

As the rain continues to pour

Rays of light will soon shine upon us know

As we continue to stand tall thru it all"

TS's song, Daylight, she sings "Like daylight

It's golden like daylight

You gotta step into the daylight and let it go"


Example 15: My poem, Gaslight, describes a woman being manipulated and made to feel as though she is crazy (Recently, there is a song co-written by Jack Antonoff titled Gaslighter. However, this was for the group "The Chicks)".

TS's song, Mad Woman, sings about the same thing. Also, TS lyrics include "Now I breathe flames each time I talk". My poem, The Fire, when I describe fighting fire with fire. Also, I wrote, "She creates a masterpiece with her engineering mind". Later, TS wrote, "She was a mastermind". Also, TS wrote, "Diesel is Desire" in The Great War. I had written, "Anger fuels our Desire...and we are fighting fire with fire".


Example 16: My poem, Ingenue, describes a woman going through adversity but remaining strong. I also compare the fall of the Mayan Dynasty--as it being their own demise. This sorta reminded me of TS's song, The Last Great American Dynasty, as she sings about how a woman had a marvelous time ruining everything--as if she caused the demise of her own dynasty.


Example 17: TS's song, Long Story Short, describes picking battles until they picked her. Yet, in the end, she survived.

My poem, The Fire, describes fighting a battle and I wrote, "Pick your battles wisely, they say". In the end of the poem, I describe how I survived.


Example 18: TS song, willow, she wrote "every switch and bait was a work of art".

In my poem, Whirlwind, I wrote "when you write from the heart, it results in a work of art"

I wrote a message on TS Instagram prior to evermore being released. Under one of her pics, I wrote how TS sometimes uses a "bait and switch strategy" as in avoiding attribution.


Example 19: In TS's music video for Look What You Made Me Do, she is inside a cage on a swing. This video came out about 6 months after I published my poems, including Gaslighter where I wrote "You caged me and told me I am crazy".

This may be a coincidence


Example 20:

This has to do with another artist. On February 12, 2021, I entered a new poem I wrote titled Truth into a poetry contest. My poem discusses that anyone can write lies and it's very easy to manipulate others, but the truth stands on its own and it's through our actions, not words.

A line in my poem is "It's the patriot turned renegade"

I am a huge fan of Pink, always have been. She has an amazing voice, puts on one hell of a concert and her music is exceptional. I put her up there with other greats like Tori Amos who has been my idol since I was 15. However, I would just like to share this passage about fire, because why not?

Pink's documentary and new song are titled "All I know so far" and one of her lyrics are "I wasnt born a renegade" and describes being left naked with just the truth. Also, in her video she says "She was fueled by her anger, and anger was her fuel". This is what I had written in my poem "The Fire". A line in my poem is "Anger fuels my Desire and here I am, fighting fire with fire".


**Update**Example 21: TS just came out with a new album (well, it's a revised edition of her earlier RED album in which she had reproduced to be able to claim rights to the songs as they are formerly controlled and owned by media proprietor, Scooter Braun). I think it is great that she took ownership of the work she created, but still...I checked the lyrics carefully to see if I found any other similarities to other musician's songs).

*TS added some new songs, including Nothing New. I would say that this song is anything but new because I first thought of Tori Amos' song, Jupiter, when I heard it. In Jupiter, Tori sings "And I thought I wouldn't have to be with you...Something new" which correlates to TS song where she sings, "And will you still want me when I'm nothing new?"/ Also, it made me think of my poem "Ingenue" which was also the initial title of my novel, Fallen from Grace. I describe a girl who lost her innocence as she grew older and wiser. Seems pretty similar to me. Oh, and i can't forget, TS also used the word Ingenue in her new song. So yeah, I guess it is similar.


TS also just produced a short film titled All Too Well. **I just want to say, "I think I saw this film before, so I'm leaving out the side door" ~ TS


Diary Concept Lover album and my book, Fallen from Grace, with copies of my personal diary entries included. Its the same concept.




(If you want to read the full poems, they are in my poetry book)


Another coincidence? in June of 2020, I made a video of me dancing to one of Taylor Swift's songs that resemble my poem. Taylor dances using a chair and many of the moves are eerily similar to how I danced in my video, check it out on my Instagram account: Copy and paste this link or type in @VtR3gam5 or click on this link to my Facebook: (1) Facebook

https://x.com/VtR3gam5/status/1706770530701869260?s=20


I believe that TS might have seen my public Facebook account when I posted pictures of my beautiful mother because shortly after that...even if not, I am still going to attribute this to my wonderful Mother, Janet. TS created a video for "Wildest Dreams" that resembled her. They are both standing in an army field visiting their loved one. Also, they look the same with light eyes and black, short hairstyle.


Here are pics of my Mom when she visited my Dad who served in the military: This is in honor of them.


The cover of my book (below) which was published a year before the Lover album.

..

My poem, Sky Tinted Water, inspired by this pic (below)

that I took in 2018 at Jensen Beach, FL where I used to live.

This picture came out beautiful that I had to write about it.

The day reminded me that beauty, love and innocence

still exist even during daunting times.

Lady Gaga made posed a meme about a year after I published Fallen from Grace with the picture (below) included on the cover. I just wanted to mention this since it is a striking resemblance.



Life is full of storms, but we have the power to overcome anything ~ Kimberly Marasco, 2020

Lightning Strikes Every Time She Moves ~ Calvin Harris

The lightning pic is on the back cover of Fallen from Grace


This drawing represents feeling the warmth of the Afterglow (My poem, Ordinary Citizen)

My beagles, Roxy and Cody

I painted this pic to represent my poem, Invisible Power

to represent the wind (Taylor wrote a song, Invisible String which

is very similar to the message in my poem


~ Kimberly Marasco


Standing in front of the St Augustine Cross on June 12th, 2015. This date is disturbing. It was exactly - to the day - one year prior to the loss of my friend and the Pulse Night Club Orlando Tragedy.

~ Fallen from Grace ~ Even when the skies are filled with darkness And it feels as though there is no hope Know that a new dawn will rise It is in this very moment When we have fallen from grace and feels as though we have been defeated when we are on our knees trying to believe it is then, that a miraculous light will pierce through the bleakness and lift us back on our feet with a new appreciation for this precious gift of life ~ Innocence Lost (Partial Poem) ~

Innocence was lost When the world turned on its' axis The day became dark and gloomy the air turned colder And all that was placid and primordial Became shameful and perturbed I wonder what she thinks of the world if she only knew,

it would turn mean and cruel...


About a year after I published Innocence Lost,

Lewis Capaldi wrote a song called Someone You Loved in which

his lyrics "The day bleeds into nightfall" reminded me my poem.

~ Kimberly Marasco, 2015

Poems

1. Fallen from Grace

2. Ingenue

3. Innocence Lost

4. Ordinary Citizen

5. Sky Tinted Water

6. Scorpion

7. Delusional Reality

8. Beams of Light

9. Clandestine Cat

10. Whirlwind

11. The Fire

12. Invisible Power

13. Stagnate

14. Baby, U R A Star

15. Breaking Waves

16. The Unsung

17. The Light

18. Polaris

19. Real Reality

20. Devious Minds

21. Dominoes

22. Truth

23. Time

24. All I want for Xmas

25. Gaslight

26. Promise of Light Omega

27. Fear

28. Under the Same Sun

29. Meadow

30. Foreign Land

31. Midnight frame

32. Bigger than the whole universe

33. Negligent sh**

34. Answer

35. Anti-woke


Fallen from Grace: Novel Table of Contents Introduction First Section: Poems Chapter 1: Larvae—The Beginning Chapter 2: The Caterpillar—Early Days Chapter 2: The Spider Chapter 3: The Web—Entrapment Chapter 4: The Spider’s Venom—Illness Chapter 5: Metamorphosis—The Caterpillar Hides Chapter 6: Stamina—Gaining Strength Back Chapter 8: Breaking out from the Cocoon—Discovery Chapter 9: A New Horizon—Recovery Chapter 10: Chrysalis—Emergence of the Butterfly Appendix: Pictures


Video Book Promo:

For Music Aficionados: I am a fan of Prince. Prince wrote songs for other artists, including Jill Jones' song titled Mia Bocca. I posted the video on my facebook a long time ago and noticed that later, Taylor Swift's song "Blank Space" had a very similar instrumental composition. So, this was probably copied too - pull up both videos (with the links below) and listen carefully and I believe you will notice it too.


 




.

5,603 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page